Anybody Hiring?

School is finally done! I handed in my last paper on Saturday after a few heart stopping moments involving disappearing footnotes (did you know email doesn’t save any formatting?) and a locked printer room door. I swear I aged 10 years trying to get this paper handed in on time.
Was in Montreal for a farewell to a friend. She is off to live with the midnight sun and commune with nature. Lucky her. We had such a nice time. It is so nice to see everyone …the Petrus’s have the best barbeques, the food is amazing, the company unparalleled…you always feel like a million dollars after you’ve left their house. I don’t think people tell them enough, or show their appreciation to them for how they bring people together and make each of them feel so special. There must be a special place in jannah for them.
I am looking for a second job this summer to try an save up for my tuition. I was thinking maybe a bookstore or something similar. If I manage to save enough maybe I will actually have enough for a little trip. Right now the only trips I take are in my head.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Anybody Hiring?

  1. Salaam Iris Blue
    How sweet of you to say that about our bbq’s! Jazakallu khair
    We really want people to have a good time and enjoy the food and the company and everything. I am going email my mother and father to tell them to come read your post. Its funny, whenever we do a big bbq, we all have different roles. Mom and I do the invites, most of the shopping and almost all the preparing. Fire Beard does the bbq-ing and a lot of the entertaining. Other random male members do misc. work, yard cleaning, last minute grocery stops etc…and it all works out! Alhamdulilah, all Praise is for God Almighty.
    Though I am not yet in the land of the midnigt sun, British Columbia is wonderful. I remember listening to a talk by Hamza Yusuf about how in the Qur’an, Allah tells humans to look at nature an contemplate it as a sign of God. It truly is. I wish I knew more about geological processes and formations and geology in general. But my aunt who I will live with in Yellowknife is a geologist, so hopefully she can educate in that way.
    Okay, keep coming to my site for more pictures, I will keep posting them. My aunt here is impressed with all this new-fangled technology, but it is great.

  2. ok seriously. talk about rubbing salt into a wound. I am so sad that i could not make this bbq.

    ib, working in a bookstore is a fab idea. can you imagine the discounts off of books you would get?

  3. I know!!! I love books so it wouldn’t even be like working….I think???

    Susu, Nature is truly a sign from Allah — your soul breathes when you are surrounded by His glory. I’ve always wanted to visit a desert…I think it was Jamal who said it is a truly spiritual experience being in a place like that.

  4. anybody got a spare kidney?

    man, you guys are friggin soppy…

  5. where’s your blog, firitimo? do you know anything about Greek philosophy?

  6. saadia

    can i take a trip in your head too 🙂

  7. anybody gotta spare kidney?

    i don’t do blogs. soooooo passe

    i just like to spam them

  8. Kidney girl
    You have to come out here, we aren’t soppy! Nature is a sign of God’s glory and we should contemplate it…but I still love you and you can have 1 of my (brother’s) kidneys if you want.

  9. Ha Ha…Sadu a trip in my head can be a little freaky…are you sure you want to?–>

Leave a Reply

