Happy Canada Day!

I have decided to abandon Blogger because they suck…

July 1st and it is Canada’s Birthday and I’m feelin like maybe I should join the crowds downtown to celebrate.

                                                                       images.jpg     
Or I could just stay home and recover from being sick for half the month. My trip to Toronto last weekend ended up with me coming home with a major throat infection, that was strep..that wasn’t strep…oh we’re not sure…here take these meds…no don’t take these meds…look are you feeling better yes or no cause I’m confused and I’m the doctor…
Anyways I am feeling better…thanks to all those who actually noticed I was sick and worried…NADU!!!! I am just going to take it easy this weekend.
I was supposed to go to Nadia’s baby shower in Montreal but I don’t trust that I won’t give it to her ad my throat still hurts. She threatened me with bodily harm if I didn’t come, but she is pregnant so I am pretty sure I can run faster than her right now.
Tiidy’s little wedding shindig in TO was fun…I took tons of pics. Her new South African husband is a debonair guy who managed to convince the entire Somali family that he was fabulous! People should take lessons from him 🙂
Tiidy was glowing as any new bride should be. She is so happy and it is truly wonderful!
Tiidy’s mom asked me why I was so fat…I couldn’t stop laughing…I couldn’t tell her I stopped smoking because she would have had heart failure, so I just told her the truth..”I don’t know Auntie..I guess I just like food!” She smiled and said “You are like me! Here have a chocolate!”
So we sat there till late eating chocolate and talking To Nasra about her experiences in Korea. She announced when she came home she was marring a Korean guy! Her only two stipulations were that he become Muslim and learn English. Apparently he is not worried about the whole Muslim thing, as it takes what 5 minutes to choose a new name, but he is very worried about having to learn English which at the rate he’s going could take years!! Ha…
I saw a pic of him and I must say he is hot…but you know my thing for Asian guys….yesterday I had three of them pop into my office and I was dying. Maybe my next vacation should be in Korea…..
Pics from TO:

Nasra spelled her sister's name wrong...!

Tiidy and Alfie

Posing for pics

Zulaika and I

The Chef at Work

Shaved Watermelon

The girls and I

Breakfast the Next Day

On my way home

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Happy Canada Day!

  1. Awwww! How lovely! What a nice wedding and it is nice to see the Ottawa girls too.
    I missed you when you weren’t posting on blogger, so keep the posts coming.

    I read your other entries, how tragic and horrible about the fishing community, it really makes you think about your own life and the blessings we enjoy. I wish the world were a better place for more people and not just a few.

    Hugs and kisses to you!

  2. Su! How are you? I’ve been out of commission for a while- I’ve been sick with a a bunch of little things that grew into one big thing. I’m okay now though,,,this is th efirst weekend I feel normal in a while.
    You have to see that doc I was talking about. Very depressing – it leaves you with such a sense of hopelessness but at the same time it is so necessary for all of us to see. It is a reminder of how the problems we face are nothing compared to the majority of he world’s population. We live a charmed life in so many ways…I just hope we don’t pay for it ultimately.
    Love you and miss you!
    Happy happy Canada Day!

  3. Salaam,

    Great pics! 🙂

    I was in Ottawa recently & left the week Canada day. People are so lovely there!

    Warmly,
    Baraka

  4. Salaam to you too!

    Ottawa is a great town – I’m glad you had a good time!

Leave a Reply

