Road Trip

Well I am finally back home after a whirlwind tour of the Maritimes!  I was invited by my gal Sumayyah to go with her, her mom and her brother.  Totally spur of the moment and well worth it!  I travelled to Montreal Sunday night and then we took off Monday morning.  We travelled through Quebec to New Brunswick on the first day.  New Brunswick is so beautiful…I never realized how lovely the countryside was.  All you see are rolling hills with lush greenery and lakes and rivers everywhere.

Crossing into Prince Edward Island was freaky though -we took the Confederation bridge in.  This bridge is an engineering marvel- it has to be one of, if not the longest bridge in the world.  It took us ten minutes to cross over it : check out the livecam.  It is over 12 km long and I think around 40 metres above the ocean. With my fear of heights I was dying but I have to admit it was an experience I’m glad I had.

Prince Edward Island was beautiful.  The red roads, the scenery, the ocean…it’s hard to leave.  When we were in Charlottetown this lady sitting on a bench called ou to us “are you guys visitors?”  When we answered “yes”, she pointed to this storefront across the street and said “I think there are some people over there that you will want to see” – We couldn’t figure out what she meant – did she want us to go to the variety store and buy something?  And then we looked closely and noticed that right beside the store was the sign for the Charlottetown mosque!   We thought it was hysterical…we thanked her for her heads up.  The people were so friendly and welcoming and just makes me more determined to one day move out there.  I’ve always wanted to go live down there for a bit:)

We left PEI by ferry which was awesome.  I loved the 75 minute ride over to Nova Scotia – the ocean is such a marvel.

We also visited the Bay of Fundy region with the highest tides in the world!

We also visited some pretty parts of Nova Scotia – and then we did Amherst which is a little town that had the scurriest people ever!  We hightailed it out of there pretty quick!  Cap Pelee in New Brunswick was also a pretty strange experience.

And one of these days I shall write an ode to Tim Hortons.  Seriously it is a beacon of shining hope when you are travelling the backroads.  You go for miles without any sign of civilization and then there in the distance you see that sign!  It reminds you there is hope in the world, there is a light at the end of the tunnel, you will eventually emerge from 2 lane highways littered with moose signs and surrounded by spruce trees.  And by some miracle your coffee tastes the same no matter where you are.  I don’t care if those who shall not be named down South bought him out – Timmy’s still the ultimate symbol of Canada for me!

We got back into Montreal Saturday and I crawled back home late Sunday.  Spent the next day recovering, sleeping, doing groceries and more sleeping.  I have the rest of the week off so I am just going to chill out and work on my thesis crap. 

One thing I realized on this trip was how beautiful Canada is!  I made a resolve to start travelling more inside the country – I love this country –  I don’t know how Nadia does it living in California … nothing beats home.

Check out the pics here at Flickr

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Road Trip

  1. safiyah

    California???!!! What the heck about me? Hellllooooooooooo????
    ps – i’m not stalking your blog, i’m just bored, okay? Sue me.

  2. yeah but you’ll be home unless you fall in love with some korean guy and decide to eat kimchi for the rest of your life….
    that would be sooooo funny. can you imagine explaining that to mom and pops?

  3. nayya

    awww.. i don’t know how i do it either. i miss canada tremendously. nothing like home.

    did you have your rescue remedy when you went over that *high* bridge?

    lol @ saf & kimchi…

Leave a Reply

