December Reads

Okay so I’ve started a few new books.  I picked up a book from Coles a few weeks ago called In Praise of Slow by Carl Honore.  I’d never heard of it before but it looked interesting and I am a sucker for anything that says “international bestseller” on it…  In honour of my new find I have been reading it slowly. (Ha ha).  It’s actually interesting so far – a little repetitive and kind of “okay I get the picture”, but so far I like.

I’m also reading The Art of Loving by Erich Fromm.  I picked this up a few months ago at Benjamin Books.  I’ve just opened it so I don’t have too much to say other than I like what I’ve read so far.  It reminds me of a conversation my uncle and I had over 10 years ago, and of a piece I wrote maybe 7 or 8 years ago.  So interesting when you meet up with old thoughts.  Like old friends reuniting.

Bedtime reading is Somerset Maugham‘s book Mrs. Craddock.  Saf tried to get me to read this last year.  One of my all-time favourite books is Maugham’s Of Human Bondage and I am enjoying this one as well.

And I have begun leafing through Tariq Ramadan’s  In the Footsteps of the Prophet.  Most likely to become bedtime reading after Mrs. Craddock.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “December Reads

  1. BismillaharRahmanirRahim

    as-salaamu ‘alaikum. I thought I would recommend this book. It was required reading for a writing class when I was at NYU and its been one of my favorite ever since. This Earth of Mankind, is the first of a four part series and it is really good.

    -Fulani

  2. Thanks for the suggestion, it looks good…I’ll definitely look for it the next time I’m in the bookstore!

Leave a Reply

