Little Notes On My Boring Little Life

Daddy left for Hajj – so happy and looking healthy.  Make du’a that his health holds up and his Hajj is accepted.  It’s still so incredible to think of him travelling to Mecca and Medina.  I know this is a complete dream come true for him – the sort of dream you don’t even dare dream to hard for because it seems so impossible.  InshaAllah Mama gets to go next year.

N had her walima which was great fun all around.  She looked beautiful and I, despite my application of mascara and stilettoes, got outshone by my nephews’ cuteness.  Go figure!  I killed my feet for nothing – I should have worn my birks – my skirt was long wnough and no one would have been wiser 🙂

F had her baby – a sweet little boy who remained nameless while they tried a different name out each day for 4 or 5 days.  They finally settled on Zakariya.

Snow – snow – snow and so cold!  I broke out my snowpants.  Seriously I have no shame when it gets this cold.  Del says Hell is cold too, not just scalding hot.  Honestly that scared me more than the descriptions of the fire.  For people who haven’t experienced bone chilling icy cold you have no idea how nasty it is.  I mean -30 degrees celcius, where it takes you an hour to defrost and no matter how high the heat is you are still cold.  When you take a deep breath you cough because your lungs freeze.  When it’s that cold I cry as I’m waiting for the bus – I can’t help it I am sooo miserable.  Hell cold is not a nice thought but then I’ve never heard Del’s version so I don’t know…but it still worked on me.

I finished Mrs. Craddock – I loved it.  Saf you are going to like it.  When Jazz goes down to Korea I’ll send it with her.  I also finished In Praise of Slow.  It was like one never ending magazine article.  Boring as shiznit – repeating the same thing over and over again.  I liked the subject matter but that’s about it.

About a week left till we head to Toronto inshaAllah for the retreat.  A chance to learn and be inspired.  Saf don’t be jealous – think of the summer and your plans and how jealous I will be then. 

I caught American Gangster last night – I loved this song by Anthony Hamilton.  Check it out.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Little Notes On My Boring Little Life

  1. , despite my application of mascara and stilettoes, got outshone by my nephews’ cuteness.

    hahah DUDE, i was swooning over your outfit all evening. SWOONING, i say! i’m not sure if your mascara and stilettos showed up in the pics i took of you, but you looked BEAUTIFUL.

    also, i’m so glad i got to finally meet you, after hearing so many sweet things about you from N. =)

    Del says Hell is cold too, not just scalding hot.

    seriously, i had this little epiphany a whole back, too. Hell must be COLD, ICY COLD – not scalding hot, like they say. and that scares me, too. i did a little conversion, and -30C = -22F, so, oh mein Gott, that just makes me want to cry. the snow in ottawa was intriguing for the short time i was there, but i could never live anywhere that it snows. =/

    hope you’re well, buddy boy!
    sending you and yours good wishes for warmth and health. may your dad’s hajj be beautiful and blessed, inshaAllah.

  2. Yas! So nice of you to visit 🙂
    The pics are nice – you are a wiz with the camera, but even so, the cuteness of the nephew still made the rest of us pale in comparison!
    You should see it here right now… a blizzard is underway and I may just get marooned at work today. Perhaps a visit to Cali is what I need to get rid of my seasonal affective disorder 😉
    Hope to see you soon girlie.

  3. I don’t know about that, yaar – I get my fair share of Seasonal Affective Disorder right here in California. Pathetic, I know.

    Hope you got the photos alright. The nephew was indeed adorablicious, mashaAllah. =)

  4. Pingback: The doorway into thanks, and a silence in which another voice may speak

  5. saf

    well, my jealousy is somewhat abated by the fact that it’s ten degrees here, with not a hint of snow.

    the best laid plans of mice and men … next summer seems far far away .. make du’a for me, i may have another fit of writer’s block.

  6. Pingback: A letter. « an outlet

  7. Hey, you used to write magnificent, but the last several posts have been kinda boring… I miss your tremendous writings. Past several posts are just a bit out of track! come on!

  8. I thought you might like this 🙂

    Smoking is one of the leading causes of statistics. 🙂

Leave a Reply

