Spring Cleaning

I spent the day cleaning out closets, going through old bags of clothes and wondering how it is possible I accumulated as much as I do.  I also am tossing out some furniture – out are the chairs in the living room and some random bits of wood that I seem to have collected.

I have grand plans for my living room – a little bit of paint, a new sofa and we’ll be ready for spring.  If it ever get here.  The snow has been ridiculous this winter.  I almost drowned on my way to work  over the weekend.  And then because they didn’t plow the sidewalk had to walk in the road and I almost got run over by a massive snow plow.  Very stressful.  Although the snow is beautiful and when it snows it’s not cold at all – it brings back memories of pretending I was ‘Lost in the Barrens’ with my brothers.  We used to love playing in snow storms when we were little.

march-01.jpg     march-02.jpg

It’s almost asparagus season and I can’t friggin wait. I am so tired of eating mostly potatoes, kale and squash.  This eating locally thing can be a bit boring.  I cheated a few times I think with celery ( I cannot make soup without celery!) but I refuse to buy stuff from bloody Chile or Brazil in the dead of winter.  My eco footprint is already big enough thank you very much.  So April is when things start to get good around here.  The hydro tomatoes start in April too.  If you haven’t already realized I have a seasonal chart on my fridge.

AP came out with this article about drug particles being found in the water.   Are people just clueing into this now?  This is old news.  The question is what are we going to do about it?  Not much if will be done if you consider what the issues are.  Money and the pharmaceutical companies.  It costs lots of money to screen, test and properly filter our water supplies (and even then we can’t get everything) and just as importantly we need to stop overmedicating ourselves.  I wonder if people are ever going to realize once and for all that every step we take has repercussions.  We also need to take responsibility for ourselves, that doesn’t include popping a pill for every little thing.  I know as well as anyone how hard it is to quit smoking but it makes me so angry when I see people who are taking about 20 pills to deal with their crappy cholesterol, their crappy heart, their crappy lungs and their crappy blood pressure and they’re still puffing merrily away.  They could at least pretend to be ashamed of themselves. 

I found a website that will allow you to check if the products you are using contain harmful ingredients.  I checked out the list last night and the only one I really have to change is my toothpaste.  I already use pretty good shampoos and conditioners and I’ve switched to different body washes too.  Apparently my favourite lotions are not on the danger list – thank God for small miracles.  The all natural stuff is ridiculously expensive too.  I saw one for 65.00 the other day…I’d rather use the actual avocado than pay 65.00 for a pot of lotion. I actually found a really nice shampoo that is made in my area and uses only natural products.  It’s expensive but not unreasonably so.  I also want to switch to more naturally based household cleaners.  With my allergies as well as the toxic cancer causing agents abounding in most cleaners I think it’s about time.   My allergies have been pretty bad for the last two days.  Whenever I do a big cleaning I suffer for it.  I have a mask but it only helps so much.  This is why I need a maid.  Not because I am lazy or anything.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Spring Cleaning

  1. BismillaharRahmanirRahim

    as-salaamu ‘alaikum. How are you? You wrote,

    “I am so tired of eating mostly potatoes, kale and squash. This eating locally thing can be a bit boring.”

    I have been playing around with Ottoman and Traditional Turkish recipes lately. I will begin to post them sometime this week, inshaAllah. If you get a chance you may like to try them out… it will definitely change up your menu and I have chosen to work with fairly simple things.

    -Saifuddin

  2. susu

    Hey, did you hear, y’know the Seventh Generation cleaning products, apparently they aren’t really organic and actually contain carcinogens. Oh lord, I read on CBC.ca that about 50% of ‘organic’ and ‘natural’ cleaners and hygiene products are actually lies. Honestly I am going to start cleaning everything with vinegar and baking soda, I mean everything, even my freaking hair!

  3. Saifuddin: Hmmm…the recipes sound interesting. I’ve had some negative experiences with Turkish food so we’ll see! The boredom comes from not having a variety of veg to cook with, I’ve eaten squash in about a dozen different ways. I still have one left sitting there and I just can’t bring myself to eat it.

    Susu: Hey baby! I know what you mean…I just found out the Jason and Nature’s Gate stuff has crap in it too. You have to be careful about listening to what the adverts tell you- I’m all about reading the ingredients – knowing what to look for/avoid and doing research. Baking soda is awesome and now that I think about it Mummy used to rinse my hair with vinegar when I was little…I smelled a bit but my hair never looked too jacked up I don’t think 😉

  4. Pingback: Saifuddin

Leave a Reply

