I am feeling much better these days.  Some sleep helped.  I was actually a little bit of a hot mess, shuffling around in my bathrobe with my fluffy socks on…eating Chunky Monkey ice cream. I am still a little stuffed up but I’m pretty much back to normal.  Work was rough this week too – a lot of chaos and an inordinate amount of people who seemed to be the spawn of closely related relatives.  Not good.

I’m off now till Tuesday which is nice – I want to try and get the apartment in order for when Saf comes home.  I have to figure out where to put my bike now that she will be wanting her room back.  I guess I should clean the house too although it seems like a cruel cosmic joke that I have to work full time and clean the damn house.  I can do one or the other but not both.  Actually I can only do one.  Guess which one it is?

The Bouchard-Taylor commission released their report on the hijab and its impact on Quebec society.  I was pretty impressed-  According to the report, the apprehension felt towards non-Christian cultures and religions can be overcome by dialogue and interaction.  Also the government has the responsibility to have proper policies and programs in place to implement the recomendations the report makes.

 I wonder what sort of impact it will have.  Quebec is kind of a strange place – in some ways it can be very liberal and progressive and in other ways it is still a very bigoted place.  I love going  back to Montreal but I don’t know if i could ever move back.  The vibe you get wearing hijab is very different there than where I live now.  The hijab is so common here it can be a little irritating.  The other day I was at that grocery store and some little chit working the cash says to me ” I can see your hair just so you know”.  I was like “yes well that’s as good as it’s getting at 9h30 pm after 12 hour shift.”  The guy at Starbucks said the same thing to me too the other day – He actually leaned over and was going to tuck whatever was flying out back in.  You know people are used to when non- Muslims are giving you crap for not covering up enough.  But seriously, Alhumdulillah we have it pretty good here compared to other cities – I’ve never had a problem finding work or interacting with people.  I’ve been very blessed.

Here is a link to the report in case anyone is interested.

 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “

  1. susu

    LOL…can’t believe that actually happened!! I saw 2 women in hijab today-pretty much the first time I’ve seen a hijab in 6 months of being here on someone other than myself!
    Yeah, so just in case you think I’m stalking you-I’m not, I just wanted to have a chat and get caught up on stuff. Can’t wait until Saffy gets back, I am sure you and the family are excited.
    I am feeling so blah today, like super homesick and sorry for myself which is horrible since I have it really good here…sigh, I’m such a stupid gemini.
    xoxox

  2. Poor Gemini girl! I miss you – Del and I were talking about you the other day …we were reminiscing about Ramadan and how nice it was with you.
    We’ll talk soon!

  3. saf

    you still have the bike??? toss it!!

  4. not on your life – i have delusions of exercise.

  5. nayya

    hey! if that’s the bike i gave you and you don’t have space for it or no longer want it, lemme know! i have so much history with it..

  6. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Outset.

Leave a Reply

